TLDs & DNS

The Domain Name System (DNS) translates names to addresses and is consequently one of the most important services in the Internet. Most other services require a reliable DNS - a DNS outag etypically appears to users as if the whole internet connection would be down. Therefore, a reliable DNS infrastructure is crucial for success of almost any internet application or service.

New Top Level Domains

ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) is currently developing processes and rules for allowing new Top Level Domains, so called generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs).
Besides the existing TLDs like .com, .museum or .at we will soon see regional TLDs (e.g. .nyc, .berlin, .wien) or brand-TLDs (e.g. .canon, see Canon’s press release). Moreover, general strings like .hotel or .jobs may be reality soon. Are you interested in investing into your own, unique TLD on the Internet? Then contact us, we’ll guide you on your way to your own TLD!

Tailored Services for your TLD

IPCom offers modular service packages to prospective applicants to new TLDs (naturally also for IDN-TLDs) ranging from consulting prior to the application, developing the ICANN application and business plans to the realization of the registry and DNS infrastructure. Find out more about our "registry in a box".
Read more about the services offered by IPCom:

IPCom expertise in TLD and DNS operations

IPCom, a subsidary of nic.at, looks back on 20 years of successful management, technical operation and marketing of DNS services for the .at top level domain. This knowledge is also sought after by other TLD operators, as various consulting contracts show. All that knowledge and experience is also available to you - curtailed to your specific requirements.

Together with nic.at, IPCom Gmbh has the following expertise in the TLD/DNS field:

  • .at operation since 1997 (prior University of Vienna) – domains increased form ~25.000 to ~930.000 today

    • 30+ nameservers worldwide, 450+ registrars worldwide
    • ~700.000 transactions, ~150.000 receipts printed per year
    • ~40.000.000 whois and finger requests

  • Experience with introduction of new namespaces

    • IDN (2004)
    • number-only domains (2006)

TLDs & DNS

Your new gTLD or brand TLD

Das Domain Name Service (DNS) setzt Namen auf Adressen um, und ist einer der wichtigsten Dienste des Internet - die meisten anderen Dienste funktionieren ohne DNS nicht, und vielen Benutzern erscheint ein DNS-Ausfall wie ein Ausfall der gesamten Internet-Anbindung.

Neue Top Level Domains

ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) bereitet derzeit die Prozesse und Regeln vor, nach welchen die bestehenden Top Level Domains (wie z.b. ".com", ".museum" und auch ".at") um weitere, sogenannte "new gTLDs" ergänzt werden können.

Damit werden "regional TLDs" (wie z.b. ".wien", ".nyc", ".berlin") möglich. Unternehmen können sich Ihre eigene Marke als TLD sichern (Pressemeldung zu ".canon"). Aber auch neue allgemeine TLDs möglich werden - von ".hotel" über ".jobs" ist (im Rahmen der Bedingungen von ICANN) alles möglich. Haben Sie Interesse oder eine gute Idee für eine TLD? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns, wir helfen Ihnen auf dem Weg zu Ihrer TLD!

Maßgeschneiderte Leistungen für Ihre TLD

IPCom bietet Bewerbern um solche neuen TLDs (oder auch IDN-TLDs) ein modulares Leistungspaket, das sich von der Beratung im Vorfeld über die Erstellung der Bewerbungsunterlagen bis zur Realisierung der Registry-Infrastruktur und des DNS-Netzwerks erstreckt. Entdecken Sie unsere "Registry in a Box".

Lesen Sie mehr über die IPCom-Leistungen in den Bereichen:

Kompetenz der IPCom GmbH im TLD Bereich

IPCom hat als Tochterfirma der nic.at Zugriff auf mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung im Management, technischem Betrieb und Vermarktung von DNS-Diensten und der ".at" Top Level Domain. Dieses Wissen ist auch bei den Betreibern anderen Top Level Domains gefragt, wie mehrere Beratungsaufträge zeigen. Auch für Ihre TLD können wir auf Ihre Anforderungen zugeschnittene DNS und Registry Lösungen anbieten.

Durch nic.at weist die IPCom GmbH folgende Kompetenzen im TLD-Bereich auf:

  • „.at“-Betrieb seit 1997 (vorher Universität Wien) – von knapp 25.000 auf 930.000 Domains
    • 30+ Nameserver weltweit, 450+ Registrare weltweit
    • ~700.000 Transaktionen, ~150.000 Beleg-Drucke pro Jahr
    • ~40.000.000 Zugriffe auf Whois und Finger pro Tag
  • Erfahrung bei Einführung neuer Namensräume
    • IDN seit 2004
    • Zifferndomains seit 2006